## **Appointment of Harbour Appointments Sub Committee**

The Terms of Reference for the Harbour Committee state that the Committee membership will be:-

The Committee is asked to consider appointments to the Harbour Appointments Sub Committee (a minimum of three Councillors). In June 2017, it was resolved that a Harbour Appointments Sub-Committee, comprising of five members of the Harbour Committee (The Chair, Vice-Chair and Councillors Amil, Carter and Stringer), be appointed with the following Terms of Reference:-

"to consider ad hoc applications for external advisor positions on the Harbour Committee and recommend to the Harbour Committee the persons who should be appointed to those posts as and when vacancies arise. And to determine the rolling programme for advisors tenure"

Although not specifically stated in the Terms of Reference for the Harbour Committee it is a Harbour Committee recommendation that External Advisers should be limited to two 4-year terms, which is in line with good governance best practice. The table below shows the current position in respect of External Advisers:-

Advisor	Appointing Body	Date when first appointed	Current 4-year term ends
David Buckpitt	Harbour Committee	5 Dec 2011	End of Dec 2019
Michael Stewart	Harbour Committee	17 Dec 2012	End of Dec 2020
Michael Ellis	Harbour Committee	16 Dec 2013	End of Dec 2021
Nigel Blazeby	Harbour Committee	19 March 2017	End of March 2022
Mark Day	Harbour Committee	19 March 2017	End of March 2022
Vacant	EDC	N/A	N/A